Georgetown University - Department of Chemistry Department of Chemistry

News & Events

Department News Archive


November 16, 2005 Georgetown University awarded Jennifer Swift the College Dean Award for Excellence in Teaching. [more]

August 28-September 1, 2005 Washington D.C. served as host to the 230 th National Meeting of the American Chemistry Society. At the ACS conference, Georgetown’s Department of Chemistry was represented well with several faculty, nearly 30 graduate students, and three undergraduate researchers presenting talks or posters

August 1, 2005 Effective August 1, 2005, Jennifer Swift and Timothy Warren are officially promoted to the rank of Associate Professor with tenure.

July 21, 2005 Jennifer L. Small (C06) selected as Clare Boothe Luce Scholar. [more]

June 1, 2005 Jennifer Swift is launching a war on crystals that cause gallstones or kidney stones, hoping to slow down their growth and understand what makes them tick. [more]

April 20, 2005 Jennifer L. Small (C ’06), a biochemistry major, was named a Goldwater Scholar by the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation. [more]

April 19, 2005 The Graduate Student Organization of Chemists hosted Prof. Sam Stupp, Board of Trustees Professor of Materials Science, Chemistry, and Medicine and Director of the Institute for BioNanotechnology in Medicine at Northwestern University, as the inaugural Graduate Student Invited Lecturer. Prof. Stupp’s talk, “Form and Function of Supramolecular Nanostructures,” was enjoyed enthusiastically by all in attendance.

April 7, 2005 Chemistry Professors Angel de Dios, Paul D. Roepe, and Christian Wolf receive NIH-NIAID research grant for their interdisciplinary efforts in developing improved drugs to treat drug resistant malaria. [more]

March 15, 2005 The National Science Foundation (NSF) selected Sarah L. Stoll as a 2005 recipient of the Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Program award. [more]

January 26, 2005 Angel C. de Dios was honored during the College Faculty Convocation with the annual Dean's Award for Excellence in Teaching. [more]

January 12, 2005 Jennifer Swift has received the 2005 Margaret C. Etter Early Career Award. The annual award recognizes scientists who have made outstanding achievements and shown great potential at early stages of their careers. [more]


Archives:  2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005

Current News


   page last updated: October 8, 2013
people | undergraduate | graduate | resources | news & events | alumni | home

© Copyright 2006 Georgetown University - Department of Chemistry. All Rights Reserved

Site design: Academic Web Pages

Georgetown Home Page