Georgetown University - Department of Chemistry Department of Chemistry

News & Events

Department News Archive


November 26, 2006 - Georgetown College presents its inaugural installment of Research News: Science with a series of articles about Professor Paul Roepe, students in his lab, and his malaria research.

November 16, 2006Dr. Norman V. Duffy, a Georgetown Chemistry alumnus and Professor of Chemistry at Wheeling Jesuit University, was named the U.S. Professor of the Year for West Virginia.

August 16, 2006 – Georgetown University hosted the Mid-Atlantic Seaboard Inorganic Symposium (MASIS), bringing together the region’s research groups working on aspects of synthetic inorganic chemistry

August 1, 2006 – An article by Dr. Mathew George and Prof. Richard G. Weiss (“Molecular Organogels. Soft Matter Comprised of Low-Molecular-Mass Organic Gelators and Organic Liquids” Acc. Chem. Res. 2006, 39(8) 489-497) has been chosen as cover art for Accounts of Chemical Research.

August 1, 2006Bahram Moasser joined the faculty of the Department of Chemistry as an assistant professor.

August 1, 2006 – Professors Paul Roepe, YuYe Tong, and Christian Wolf were promoted. Roepe was promoted to full professor in the Department of Chemistry and the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. Tong and Wolf were promoted to the rank of association professor with tenure in the Department of Chemistry.

May 19, 2006 – Professor Emeritus Michael T. Pope receives the 2006 Career Research Achievement Award.

April 28, 2006 Jingsong Huang was awarded the 2005 Chinese Government Award for Outstanding Self-Financed Students Abroad.

April 1, 2006 –Prof. Toshiko Ichiye has been awarded two grants: a four-year, $1,056,000 grant from the National Institutes of Health and a four-year, $639,712 grant from the National Science Foundation.

March 1, 2006 Rhia M. Martin (C’07) was awarded the UNCF-Merck Undergraduate Science Research Scholarship Award.

February 9, 2006 The Chemical Society of Washington awarded Megan Carroll (C’06) and Morgan L. Deacon (C’06) with the College Chemistry Achievement Award.


Archives:  2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005

Current News


   page last updated: October 8, 2013
people | undergraduate | graduate | resources | news & events | alumni | home

© Copyright 2006 Georgetown University - Department of Chemistry. All Rights Reserved

Site design: Academic Web Pages

Georgetown Home Page