Georgetown University - Department of Chemistry Department of Chemistry

News & Events

Department News Archive


October 20, 2010 It is with great sadness that we report the unexpected and sudden death of alumna Silvia Carlota Termes (Ph.D. ’77, Pope). Sylvia’s latest work at the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency involved studies on the environmental effects of pesticides. The department lost a faithful alumna. [more]

September 2010 – Dr. Leah B. Casabianca (Ph.D. ’09, de Dios) has been awarded twenty-four month Fulbright Post-doctoral Research Fellowship at the Weizmann Institute of Science in Israel. She also received an NSF International Research Fellowship Award in the amount of $122,900 in support of her research activity there.

September 17, 2010 – The Department of Energy (DOE-BES) awarded Prof. YuYe Tong a three-year, $510,000 grant for his proposal “In Situ NMR/IR/Raman and ab initio DFT Investigations of Pt-Based Mono- and Bi-metallic Nanoscale Electrocatalysts: from Sulfur-Poisoning to Polymer Promoters to Surface Activity Indexes.”

September 16, 2010 – Prof. Timothy H. Warren received a three-year, $435,000 grant from the Catalysis program of the National Science Foundation’s Chemistry division for his proposal “Catalytic C-H Amination with Late Metal Nitrenes and Amides.”

September 1, 2010 – Prof. Jong-in Hahm received a new NIH R01 grant focusing on the study of zinc oxide nanorod-based early biomarker screening for acute kidney injury. This work is in collaboration with Dr. W. Brian Reeves (Department of Nephrology at Penn State Hershey Medical School). This is a five-year project and the awarded amount to Georgetown is $ $1,835,250.

September 1, 2010 – Prof. Miklos Kertesz was awarded a new NSF grant for this research on the “Electronic Structure of Organic Materials: Extremely Short Intermolecular Contacts.” The three-year grant will provide $244,971 for his research.

August 2010 – Lora Angelova, a third-year graduate student and member of the Weiss lab, has been awarded a Clare Booth Luce Fellowship for the 2010-2011 academic year.

August 2, 2010 – Mukund S. Chorghade (Ph.D. ’83, Hammer) currently at THINQ Pharma, MA, was elected to the 2010 class of Fellows of the American Chemical Society.

August 1, 2010 – YuYe Tong was promoted to Full Professor in the Department of Chemistry.

May 2010 – Dean Timothy Barbari awarded the 2010 Harold N. Glassman Dissertation Award in the Sciences to Yosra Badiei (Ph.D. ’09, Warren) for her thesis, “Copper Carbenes and Nitrenes: Capture of Elusive Intermediates and the Development of Copper Catalyzed C-H Amination Reaction.”

May 6, 2010 – Georgetown broke ground May 5 for a $100 million, state-of-the-art science center. [more]

April 1, 2010 – Associate Professor Timothy H. Warren recently received new support from the National Science Foundation for his work that aims to unravel fundamental details of biological nitric oxide processing at copper ions. [more]

March 17, 2010 Sarah Stoll, associate professor of chemistry, received a $197,547 grant from the National Science Foundation to fund the acquisition of an X-ray powder diffractometer. [more]

January 8, 2010 – NIST awarded Georgetown University $6.9 million for the construction of the new Science Research Building. [more]

January 4, 2010 – In its January 4, 2010 issue, Chemical & Engineering News recognized Catherine E. Costello, a Georgetown Chemistry Ph.D. alumna, as a 2010 American Chemical Society Award Winner for receiving the Frank H. Field & Joe L. Franklin Award for Outstanding Achievement in Mass Spectrometry. [more]


Archives:  2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005

Current News


   page last updated: October 8, 2013
people | undergraduate | graduate | resources | news & events | alumni | home

© Copyright 2006 Georgetown University - Department of Chemistry. All Rights Reserved

Site design: Academic Web Pages

Georgetown Home Page