Tumor Biology Training Program Announces 2011 Georgetown Lombardi Research Days Winners

April 15, 2011

The Tumor Biology Training Program at Georgetown Lombardi Comprehensive Cancer Center is pleased to announce the results of the 2011 Georgetown Lombardi Research Days poster competition.

The annual poster competition for Tumor Biology students was held on Thursday, April 7. Winners were announced on Friday, April 8 by V. Craig Jordan, OBE, PhD, DSc, FMedSci, scientific director of Georgetown Lombardi, in the categories of Cancer Systems Biology, Clinical and Experimental Therapeutics, Cancer Prevention, Control Risk and Epidemiology, and Molecular and Cellular Oncology. Postdoctoral and MD/PhD students also competed in two separate categories.

Congratulations to all of the students that participated in this event.

Winners of the poster competition by category:

Cancer Systems Biology

Tytus Mak: “A novel methodology for analyzing post-processed LC/MS metabolomics data”

Honorable Mentions
Anne Deslattes Mays: “FGFBP1 pathways control after induction of a conditional transgene in a mouse model: Information derived from mRNA expression pattern analysis”

Tiernan Mulrooney: "Activating receptors on NK cells: From maturation to ligand recognition"

Clinical and Experimental Therapeutics

Antoinette Cordova: “Development of novel desensitizers of the a4b2 Nicotinic Acetylcholine Receptor”

Honorable Mentions
Elspeth Beauchamp: “Arsenic trioxide inhibits human cancer cell growth and tumor development in mice by blocking Hedgehog/GLI pathway”

Rebecca Nakles: “Impact of CS7017 on development of mammary preneoplasia and cancer with loss of Brca1”

Cancer Prevention, Control, Risk and Epidemiology

Jordan Woodrick: "Development and characterization of hepatocyte cell lines from tumorous and nontumorous liver of the Long Evans Cinnamon rat, a model of inflammation-mediated hepatocarcinogenesis"

Molecular and Cellular Oncology

Maram Al-Otaiby: “Role of nuclear coactivator AIB1 in endothelial cell function and angiogenesis”

Honorable Mentions
Tabari Baker: “Detection of microRNAs targeting the angiogenic switch molecule FGFBP1”

Christopher Chien: “The nuclear coactivator function of amplified in breast cancer-D4 contributes to its oncogenicity”

Tejaswita Karve: “BTG2, a novel binding partner of NFE2L2, stimulates cellular antioxidant defense in response to oxidative stress”

Best Postdoctoral Entry

Geeta Upadhyay: “Stem cell antigen-1 enhances tumorigenicity by disruption of GDF10-dependent TGF-beta signaling”

Honorable Mentions
Katherine Cook: “The unfolded protein response regulater GRP78 promotes survival through stimulation of autophagy and inhibition of apoptosis in antiestrogen-resistant breast cancer”

Edgar Diaz Cruz: “Comparison of increased aromatase versus estrogen receptor alpha in the generation of mammary hyperplasia, cancer and response to tamoxifen”

Best MD/PhD Entry

David Solomon

Honorable Mentions
Joseph Murray: “Tumor-based molecular determinants of sensitivity and resistance to anti-EGFR antibody-dependent cellular cytotoxicity (ADCC)”

Rishi Surana: “The tumor microenvironment is enriched with immunosuppressive factors that limit the efficacy of tumor-targeted antibody therapy”

Author: Georgetown Lombardi Communications